Rabies - Bulletin - Europe

Rabies Information System of the WHO

WHO Collaborating Centres for Rabies

WHO collaborating centres (WHO CCs) are those institutions that have been stable partners for years in helping WHO to implement its mandated work and that are prepared to continue contributing towards the achievement of its current goals.

WHO Collaborating Centres for Rabies are top institutions worldwide designated by the Director-General to form part of the international collaborative rabies community and network carrying out activities in support of WHO rabies elimination programme at all levels. These institutions have long lasting experience in rabies research both fundamental and applied, diagnostics, prevention and control and depending on their area of expertise have to fulfill core terms of reference (TOR) and have concrete activities in discussion with and agreed upon by WHO for the period of designation.

Designation as a WHO CC is a time-limited agreement for the period of four years after which the designated institution has to undergo a re-designation process. The WHO has designated 14 WHO Collaborating Centres for Rabies around the world.

For more information and contact details see here:



Back to Top